Harbourview 区

A culturally rich, walkable community, minutes from the heart of Downtown Nanaimo, Harbourview District captures the essence of urban living. Close to parks, transportation, shopping, and some of Nanaimo's best cafes, coffee shops and eateries. Everything you need is within walking distance.


The Neighbourhood
The Neighbourhood

一进入Harbourview District纳奈莫(Nanaimo海港的海景就映入眼帘。从这里可以俯瞰整个Nanaimo市中心和港口。这里曾是纳奈莫(Nanaimo蓬勃发展的煤矿工业的中心。随着该地区许多宏伟的维多利亚式房屋和矿工小屋的翻修,这个南端社区正在经历复兴,并吸引着希望在一个充满活力的城市环境中留下历史痕迹的买家们。

在十分钟步行半径内,你会发现一些纳奈莫(Nanaimo最好的零售和餐饮体验。该地区的历史魅力,多样性和步行到市中心的快捷便利在纳奈莫(Nanaimo市创造了一个独特的城市环境。

 

公园和娱乐
公园和娱乐

在这个南端街区的中心是德维尔广场公园(Deverill Square Park)。南端社区协会经过深思熟虑的修复,这座家庭友好型公园拥有水上公园、操场、篮球场和灯光球场,是每年社区庆祝活动的理想场所。漫步于这个充满活力的街区,来到海港海堤,那里点缀着艺术设施,咖啡馆和冰淇淋店。沿着海堤到Maffeo Sutton公园,全年举办许多节日和音乐会,包括著名的周末国际浴缸和龙舟比赛。

 要想回到大自然,可以参观岩画公园,或者在距离Chase河河口不远的地方可以探索数公里的风景木板路。如需室内娱乐,可前往Nanaimo水上中心(Nanaimo Aquatic Cente),冰上中心的双溜滑冰场(Ice Center),或在Harewood Centennial Park体验全新的户外运动综合体。

 想来个一日游吗?登上渡轮前往附近的纽卡斯尔(Newcastle)、Protection 和加布里奥辣岛(Gabriola)探索海滩和小径,在追寻纳奈莫(Nanaimo采矿历史的线索时,从一个新的角度欣赏这座城市。更可以出海捕鱼,钓螃蟹,去海滩边挖象拔蚌和生蚝。或者搭乘Harbour Air的观光飞机,从空中欣赏纳奈莫(Nanaimo)的全貌。

 

购物
购物

跳过 Harbourview District 北端的 Port Place 购物中心,探索在市中心和老城区的街道附近的零售商店。从 Harbourview District 步行10分钟即可到达。从古老的书店到像 Archer and Arrow, Cayo Fashions, Flying FishNYLA 这样的独具一格的精品店,您一定能找到一两件让您中意的珍宝。市中心也是港口购物中心(Port Place Mall)的所在地,有一个大型医疗诊所、London Drugs,赌场、银行,水果蔬菜超级市场(Thrifty Foods)和各样餐馆。

 还有更多其他的便利设施都在 Harburview District 附近,只需很短的车程即可到达。其中包括位于南公园路广场(South  Parkway Plaza) 和南门商场 (Southgate Mall) 的另外一个水果蔬菜超级市场(Country Grocer),兽医诊所 (Chase River Veterinary Clinic) 等等的购物,餐饮等配套设施。十分便利。

娱乐和夜生活
娱乐和夜生活

说到餐饮和文化娱乐,纳奈莫(Nanaimo最好的餐馆就在离你家门口步行15分钟的市中心(downtown)。在前往市中心的途中,您可以在Firehouse Grill品尝寿司,或者前往旧城区,在各种酒吧和餐厅例如 Asteras Tavera,Le Stella Trattoria 和 Coach and Horses 小酌几杯,和朋友们交交心叙叙旧。 

 对于那些对当地美食感兴趣的朋友,可以去市中心的 Gabriel’s Cafe。他们的“从农场到叉子”座右铭意味着他们的肉、蛋和几乎所有的农产品都来自当地的可持续发展的小农场。他们菜肴的新鲜程度只有亲身尝到了你才会知道。要品尝纳奈莫(Nanaimo的工艺啤酒行业,请您一定要光临白帆啤酒(White Sail)。他们自酿啤酒的灵感就来源于这个古老的海边城市。风味口感独特,酒屋环境现代简约,是一个真正可以让身心放松,享受朋友和家人的陪伴的地方。

 喜欢艺术的朋友可以在白兔咖啡官(White Rabbit Coffee)品尝一杯浓郁的咖啡,配着刚刚出炉的糕点,欣赏着由纳奈莫(Nanaimo日益壮大的艺术家团队所带来的演出。或者去观赏皇后剧场(Queens)举办流行艺术表演或音乐才艺表演。Vault 咖啡馆每周都会举办活动。那里的环境氛围则是人们白天远程办公的理想场所,也是一个在晚上和朋友一起放松好地方。

 港口剧院 (Port Theatre) 就坐落在水前长廊的旁边。每年平均举办250多场演出和音乐活动。这里还是温哥华岛交响乐团 (Vancouver Island Symphony) 的主场。

 无论是吃饭还是娱乐,你需要的一切都在步行距离之内。

 

 

交通
交通

在Harbourview,您可以拥有一切:从美到令人窒息的海景,到步行去公共交通的便利,以及在纳奈莫(Nanaimo市古老的市中心的购物以及餐饮。纳奈莫(Nanaimo的公共汽车中央中转站离您家只有9分钟的步行路程。更近的是 Helijet 直升机终点站,搭乘直升机,20分钟后您就能到达温哥华市中心。纳奈莫(Nanaimo也是两个水上飞机终点站的所在地。海港航空公司(Harbour Air)沿海滨步行只需18分钟,而海港航空公司的终点站距渡轮码头只有约10分钟车程。这让Nanaimo与温哥华的纽带更加紧密。

乘车到纳奈莫(Nanaimo北部大约需要20分钟的时间。这是一次平稳、没有拥堵的通勤。在纳奈莫(Nanaimo),上下班的高峰时间的车辆以及路况远远没有温哥华的那么可怕和让人头痛。你平均上下班回家的时间只相当于在温哥华所花时间的一小部分。

纳奈莫(Nanaimo机场位于纳奈莫(Nanaimo正南仅13公里。现在是岛上第二繁忙的机场,目前正在进行大规模扩建。可以直飞西雅图以及多伦多。

 

房地产形势
房地产形势

纳奈莫(Nanaimo被公认为温哥华岛北部和中部的经济中心,是BC省增长速度第五快的城市中心。受该地区相对低廉的房价,温和的海岛气候以及和附近较大城市中心(大温地区的各个城市,维多利亚)的临近度的推动,房地产市场继续保持稳定。截至2019年1月,多户住宅的基准价格为323,921加币(数据来自温哥华岛房地产委员会),销售价格继续逐年上涨。

随着纳奈莫(Nanaimo经济的增长,市中心的核心地带持续吸引着更多的买家和投资者的青睐,使得人们对房地产的需求已经辐射到周边的市中心地区。这种稳定的需求和目前市面上的同类型房型的市场空缺使得 Harbourview District 成为一个绝佳的投资机会。在南纳奈莫(Nanaimo)也有一些新的公寓项目。但是并没有能集合无敌海景,社区归属感,历史魅力,以及步行就能到市中心的方便程度,以及可以负担得起的价格的公寓项目供买家选择。

人口
人口

纳奈莫(Nanaimo是一个名副其实的“海港城市”,位于温哥华岛东南侧,是其第二大城市中心。纳奈莫(Nanaimo人口约9万人,周边地区人口约为15万6千人。根据BC房地产协会的统计,到2041年,纳奈莫(Nanaimo市的人口预计将增长到14万人。

环抱Harbourview的南端社区人口约为540人。周边的市中心和老城区人口约为1470人。从可负担得起的平均价格,到市中心的临近度以及周边的配套设施,使nanaimo南端社区成为一个体验城市生活的便利和文化氛围的理想居住位置。

 

人口统计
人口统计

据加拿大统计局统计,纳奈莫(Nanaimo居民的平均年龄为44.2岁,年龄在15岁至64岁之间的居民为66,795人,占总人口的63.7%。纳奈莫(Nanaimo市中心,老城区和南区人口的平均年龄在20-50岁之间。劳动年龄居民主要从事销售与服务,贸易与运输,商业,金融,行政,建筑等行业,平均每家收入为76,949加币。Nanaimo平均房价相对于大温地区的低廉吸引了很多年轻的专业人士和家庭的注意。他们终于找到了一个负担得起的社区,在拥有所有城市生活的便利设施的同时,成为骄傲的房主。

 

大学与深造
大学与深造

纳奈莫(Nanaimo是温哥华岛大学 (VIU) 的主校区。VIU 拥有14,484名学生,提供一系列的大专课程。国际学生人数在近几年里稳步增长,在校学生约2000人,其中大部分来自中国、日本和印度。许多学生在完成学业后选择留在纳奈莫(Nanaimo和温哥华岛上,这使得这里的人口越来越多样化,也是的Nanaimo当地社会有着源源不断的新鲜血液注入。搭乘公车大约10分钟就能到达VIU主校区。开车6分钟就能抵达。

Harbourview District

Overlooking the downtown core and the Port of Nanaimo, this emerging urban neighbourhood boasts ocean and mountain views and big-city amenities in a pocket that retains a charming historic feel. Linking Downtown to this historically rich part of the city, an enclave unlike anywhere else, the Harbourview District will become a vibrant, walkable and diverse hub with landscaped walkways, roadways to accommodate bike lanes, coffee shops, boutiques, seating, and public art. The Harbourview District captures the VERY essence of urban living, bringing a culturally-rich yet still affordable urban experience to Nanaimo.


The Neighbourhood
The Neighbourhood

What was once the epicenter of Nanaimo's booming coal mining industry has undergone a major revitalization; many of the area's grand Victorian homes and miners’ cottages have been lovingly restored, resulting in a community attracting those looking for that slice of history while longing for an emerging urban setting. 

Long before coal mining shaped the landscape of the South End, the shoreline of this traditional Snuneymuxw territory was dotted with longhouses, and its sacred sites told stories of the land. The once-bustling Haliburton Street was home to hotels and saloons. Today the surrounding area is quickly transformed into an upscale, family-oriented neighbourhood. Because of groups of dedicated residents, who pride themselves on preserving the historical significance of the land and maintaining its amenities, a strong sense of community prevails. In addition, this neighbourhood’s central location boasts stunning views of the ocean, mountains, and nearby green space, making this district the epitome of West Coast living. 

Parks and Recreation
Parks and Recreation

Take time to explore. Harbourview District offers a great range of getaways. Thoughtfully restored by the South End Community Association, a local favourite is Deverill Square Park. In the heart of this south end neighbourhood, this family-friendly park features a waterpark, playground, basketball court and lit playing field; making it the ideal setting for annual community celebrations. Stroll through this vibrant neighbourhood to the harbourfront seawall, dotted with art installations, cafes, and ice cream shops. Follow the seawall to Maffeo Sutton Park, host to many festivals and concerts throughout the year, including the famous weekend-long International Bathtub and Dragon Boat races.

Get back to nature with a visit to Petroglyph Park, or explore kilometres of scenic boardwalk at the Chase River Estuary, which is only a short drive away. For indoor recreation, head to the Nanaimo Aquatic Centre, twin rinks at the Ice Centre, or check out the brand new covered outdoor sports complex at Harewood Centennial Park.

Thinking of a day trip? Hop on a ferry to nearby Newcastle, Protection and Gabriola Islands while developing a new perspective of the city as you explore beaches and trails, and hunt for clues of Nanaimo's mining history. Or take a scenic floatplane ride with Harbour Air.

Shopping
Shopping

Skip the north end malls and stroll along sidewalks, peek into storefronts and unique shopping that line the streets of downtown and the Old City Quarter–a quick 10-minute walk from Harbourview District. From bookstores to one of a kind boutiques like Archer and Arrow, Cayo Fashions, and NYLA, you're sure to find a treasure or two. Downtown is also home to Port Place Mall, which features a large medical clinic, London Drugs, a casino, Thrifty Foods, and eateries

Entertainment & Nightlife
Entertainment & Nightlife

When it comes to dining and cultural entertainment, many of Nanaimo's best venues and popular restaurants are a fifteen-minute walk from your door. On your way to downtown stop in for sushi at the Firehouse Grill or make your way to the Old City Quarter to check out a variety of pubs and restaurants such as Asteras Tavera, Le Stella Trattoria and Coach and Horses.

For a truly local dining experience in the heart of downtown, visit Gabriel's Gourmet Cafe. Their farm-to-table motto means that their meats, eggs, and produce are locally sourced from small sustainable farms. For a taste of Nanaimo's craft beer industry, check out White Sails Brewing, a gathering place to unwind and take in locally inspired brews with friends and family.

Discover Nanaimo's growing community of artists at one of White Rabbit Coffee Co. pop-up art shows or take in some musical talent at the Queens. The Vault Cafe hosts weekly events and is the ideal setting to work remotely during the day and transition into A great evening unwinding with friends.

Off the harbourfront walkway is the Port Theatre, hosting more than 250 performances and musical events a year, and home to the Vancouver Island Symphony. When it comes to dining and entertainment, everything you need is within walking distance.

Transportation
Transportation

At Harbourview District, you can truly have it all. Stunning ocean views, combined with a walkable neighbourhood close to transit and shopping in Nanaimo's downtown core. Nanaimo's central transit terminal is just a 9-minute walk from your door, and even closer is the Helijet terminal connecting you to Vancouver in 20 minutes. Nanaimo is also home to two seaplane terminals. Harbour Air is just an 18-minute walk along the harbourfront, and the SeaAir terminal is approximately a 10-minute drive, located next to the Departure Bay ferry terminal.

By car, it takes approximately 20 minutes to reach North Nanaimo, for a smooth, stress-free commute. With no real rush hour, you can be home from work in a fraction of the time it would typically take in a larger metropolis. The Nanaimo Airport is just 13 kilometres south of Nanaimo proper, and it's now the second busiest on the island and currently undergoing a massive expansion.

Real Estate Activity
Real Estate Activity

Recognized as the North and Central Vancouver Island economic hub, Nanaimo is the fifth fastest-growing urban center in BC. The real estate market, fueled by the area's affordability, climate and proximity to larger city centres, continues to hold steady. The benchmark price for multi-family dwellings as of January 2019 was $323,921 (Vancouver Island Real Estate Board), with sale prices continuing to rise year over year.

As Nanaimo's economy grows, and the downtown core continues to draw buyers and investors, the demand for real estate has radiated into surrounding downtown areas. This growth is making Harbourview District a prime opportunity to own a slice of urban living at an affordable price. With an abundance of new condo developments in South Nanaimo, very few can offer ocean views, an established sense of community, historical charm, and are within walking distance to downtown.

Population Growth
Population Growth

Nanaimo, "The Harbour City," is an oceanside community located on the southeast side of Vancouver Island and its the second-largest urban center. Nanaimo has a population of approximately 90,504 with 155,698 in the Regional District of Nanaimo. Based on BC Real Estate Association stats, the population for the City of Nanaimo is projected to grow to 138,476 residents by 2041.

The south end community that encompasses the Harbourview District has a population of approximately 540 people, while the surrounding downtown and Old City Quarter is home to roughly 1470. Affordability and proximity to downtown are making this south end neighbourhood a desirable location for people looking to experience the conveniences and cultural vibe of urban living.

Demographic
Demographic

The median age of Nanaimo residents is 44.2 years, according to statistics Canada, with 66,795 residents between the ages of 15 and 64 years old, who make up 63.7% of the population. Meanwhile, the median age of those living in Downtown Nanaimo, the Old City Quarter and the South End are between 20-50 years of age. Here, residents work mainly in sales and service, trades and transport, business, finance, and administration, with an average total income of $76,949 for private households. Nanaimo is fast drawing the attention of young professionals and families attracted to Nanaimo's affordability and livability.

Post-Secondary Educational Programming
Post-Secondary Educational Programming

Nanaimo houses the main campus for Vancouver Island University (VIU). Offering a range of post-secondary programming, VIU has a student population of 14,484. Meanwhile, the international student population, most from China, Japan and India, has seen a steady incline of enrollment year over year with a student population of approximately 2,000. Many students choose to stay in Nanaimo and on the island after completing their education–contributing to an increasingly diverse demographic. By car, VIU is approximately 10 minutes away or a bus commute from the nearby downtown bus terminal.